PROUD PAST. BOLD FUTURE.

Establishing a campus of the University of Michigan in Flint was a big, bold idea. But as the saying goes, “Fortune favors the bold.” With Charles Stewart Mott, the Michigan Board of Regents, and the entire Flint community rallied behind the idea, the first students of what would become the University of Michigan-Flint attended class for the first time on September 23, 1956. After six decades, over 30,000 graduates, and an infinite number of their contributions still reverberating throughout communities near and far, UM-Flint is ready to write its next chapter.

UM-FLINT CELEBRATES 60 YEARS OF SUCCESS

From August to December 2016, UM-Flint will host a series of events across campus to celebrate 60 years of student success, engaged learning with top-notch faculty, and cooperation with Flint and the surrounding region. Below you’ll find a list of activities planned as part of the 60th anniversary celebrations.

AUGUST 2016

Friday, August 19
Go Blue on the Bricks
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Riverfront Residence Hall and Conference Center
More

Saturday, August 20
U-M Alumni Lounge at Back to the Bricks Car Show
11:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
FirstMerit Building

SEPTEMBER 2016

Thursday, September 1 – Thursday, September 15
Maize & Blue Days
More

Thursday, September 8
60th Anniversary Community Celebration
8:00 – 9:15 p.m.
Downtown Flat Lot (125 E. Kearsley St.)

Wednesday, September 21
Time Capsule Dedication
1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
FirstMerit Building

OCTOBER 2016

Wednesday, October 5
Critical Issues Forum: Tracie McMillan
10:00 a.m. Free, public sessions
Harding Mott University Center Happenings Room
More

Wednesday, October 19 – Saturday, October 22
Homecoming Week

Tree Planting Ceremony
TBD
North Lawn

NOVEMBER 2016

Monday, November 7 – Friday, November 11
UM-Flint’s Diversity Week

Monday, November 14
Critical Issues Forum: Josh Linkner
10:00 a.m. Free, public sessions
Harding Mott University Center Happenings Room
More

Monday, November 14 – Friday, November 18
UM-Flint’s International Education Week

DECEMBER 2016

Sunday, December 18
December Commencement Ceremony